Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not really sure what to do with this. The SO likes Zac and Zac likes the SO until the SO and I are close to one another. Zac doesn't get protective but he gets jealous I think. He starts to cry and tries to sit between us. Has anyone else ran into this issue? I kick him off the couch and tell him no but its doesn't seem to help. Zac isn't allowed on the couch or bed anyway so it shouldn't be that only when the SO is here he isn't allowed to do certain things. Zac also decides that he has to pee about 100 times while the SO is here as well and cries to go out (assuming its an attention thing).

·
Registered
939 Posts
I'm no expert by any means, but maybe you could have your SO do some training/treats and play time with Zac, so he associates your SO with FUN stuff? Then maybe he'd see your SO coming over as a positive thing, rather than 'hes going to steal all of momma's attention'

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no expert by any means, but maybe you could have your SO do some training/treats and play time with Zac, so he associates your SO with FUN stuff? Then maybe he'd see your SO coming over as a positive thing, rather than 'hes going to steal all of momma's attention'
Good point...I didn;'t think about that! They play sometimes but not a lot.

·
Registered
9,449 Posts
Sounds like resource guarding to me. I'd hire a good trainer to walk you through how to fix it. For now, I'd crate him when SO comes over.

Reactions: Chelse

·
Registered
12,009 Posts