Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

So I'm new to this page, but I figured here would be one of the best places to get an opinion on reputable doberman breeders. I am a young RN, living alone, and I've decided to start really looking for a companion.

I've had dogs my entire life, my mother was an AKC registered golden retriever breeder when I was born, so I have plenty of experience in the welping box (cuddles with the puppies was a bonus). I've always been very interested in adopting a doberman, but I'm aware of the health concerns, and the risk for brain abnormalities as they age (thank you ncbi, didn't realize they had information on dogs along with all of the nursing research), so I am leaning more towards purchasing a puppy from a breeder.

Right now I'm just in the looking process (scouring the AKC website and all they suggest). I live in NJ, so if anyone here can direct me towards reputable breeders I would greatly appreciate it.

thank you!!

·
Super Moderator
15,610 Posts
Welcome.

Have a look on the breed parent club's website Doberman Pinscher Club of America | Home There are some very informative public education articles there as well as a breeder referral listing by state. The AKC website is not really going to be much help. The whole brain growing larger than the skull thing is an old urban legend. There's not truth to it at all.

·
Zuko's Mom
191 Posts
Hello, and welcome to the forum!! You'll find great information here as well as lots of info about breeders. I'm in the Midwest so I'm not very familiar with breeders in the NJ area, but there are members from all over that will be able to help you.