Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8,069 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those that work/compete with more than one dog how do you find it?
Do you enjoy it? Do you find that your dogs could be at a much higher level of training had you only had the one?
How old was the first dog, and how far along in the dogs training before you started another?

·
Registered
9,449 Posts
I started training Flirt at about 8 months old for agility but had a Vizsla with cancer at the time. Our privates were more of a “get me out of the house” fun thing than solely focused on training. My instructor also lost a dog to cancer and sometimes we just chatted vs training. It took me until Flirt was almost 3.5 to be ready to trial.

I started my young Vizsla at 11 months and he and Flirt rotated weekly classes. He’s kind of an odd nut in that he learns quickly. He may not be the most confident or fastest but he learned the weaves in 10 lessons. He was ready to trial at 2 with limited training.

I had the bright idea to start them in Novice together since I didn’t want to be at a trial all day long. Well they moved into Open relatively quickly and had 3 dogs in open which can be tough at smaller AKC trials. Sometimes I have ONE dog in between Flirt and Havoc.

Cost is an issue in entering. It is about $300 to do all 3 dogs in 2 classes for 2 days in AKC.

TIME is an issue. I have 2 dogs in one class on Tuesday, one in class on Wednesday and I rent the facility for 30 minutes on Monday. I’m LUCKY that I live 3.2 miles from the facility.

I like the fact that when I train – all 3 dogs are at similar levels now of training. I like the fact the last 2 dogs were trained identical and fortunately they also run similarly. I can put a training plan for the week together and use the same one for all 3 dogs.