Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My pup is 9 weeks yesterday, and I'd like to get her in conformation event (assuming she has what it takes, I'll post picks later of her for critic). Would I enter her in puppy 4-6 month event or a conformation event, and then indicate she's a pup?

And if she's not conformation material, would I just enter her in 4-6 and pick obedience, rally, or agility (although, I thought you weren't supposed to do agility until they were older).

Also, is there a competition/titles for bite work? Or does AKC have nothing to do with them?

I'm a TOTAL newbie, but want to have fun with my dog, get some titles, be a legit breeder...

Thanks!

·
Registered
6,610 Posts
okay, first and foremost: when is the event? you can't enter her before she's 4 months old. once she's old enough, simply enter her in the appropriate age group.

secondly: was she sold to you as a show prospect?

third: i believe UKC is involved with bitework, but am not sure. there are some folks here who train and trial in bitework, and they'd be your best sources for this.

fourth: is your breeder involved in any of these decisions? if you intend to become a reputable breeder, the person from whom you bought your puppy should be involved as a mentor, particularly if you've never done any of this before. where did you get your pup?

·
Registered
6,610 Posts
oh, also: do not underestimate the value of a training class specifically for handling/ringcraft. i would urge you to look into and possibly join the dobe club in your state, as members will be able to help you out a GREAT deal with all of this.

Reactions: Rootstudio

·
Got mutt?
13,643 Posts
My pup is 9 weeks yesterday, and I'd like to get her in conformation event (assuming she has what it takes, I'll post picks later of her for critic). Would I enter her in puppy 4-6 month event or a conformation event, and then indicate she's a pup?