Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to Dobermans and I've also never had a dog this large before. I have a 5 1/2 month old puppy. He never barked before but he has recently started barking when he hears distinctly the either of my neighbors male voices in their yards or if someone screams next door in the yard. I tell him NO and he stops but I'm not sure if I'm training an important instinct out of him. So when is an appropriate time for him to bark? Is it okay for me to stop him from barking at the neighbors voices and will he still have the instinct to bark when it is important like if there is someone lurking near the house? Thanks!

·
Registered
4,230 Posts
Mine do the same thing, if they hear a noise through the fence they wanna let me know about it. As long as he stops when you tell him to, in my opinion he is just doing his job.

Teaching a dog to never bark is not a good thing. It's his "warning system". You would be taking away a key verbalization, a method of communicating. Some of the most dangerous dogs I have ever met were the ones coming through the shelter who didn't verbalize before reacting.

·
Mom of the Herd
238 Posts
:neutral:My won't bark if she hears something and is very timid when someone comes in. But my Minpin barks at EVERYTHING, cats, deer, other dogs barking over the next farm. Makes me crazy. The Dob will be on the couch and the door bell will ring, all 5 other dogs will run to the door raising heck, the Dob looks up as to say, well they are all there, why should I bother getting up an strain my voice....................

·
Registered
2,944 Posts