Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm Tonya. I work in retail and I'm far from being wealthy. However, I've always wanted a Doberman. I've even saved up enough money to buy a Doberman puppy, but today I read from a blog that the average cost of owning a large breed dog like Doberman could be up to $300 a month. Is that true? How much do you have to spend on dog food and other things your dog needs on average in a month?

·
Registered
2,803 Posts
I spend about $200 a month on regular items such as food, toys, treats, and chews.

I spend about $500 a weekend that we are competing.

I spend about $1,000 a year for vet visits and routine tests (plus the odd injury).

I have a savings account with no lower than $10,000 for emergencies.

I spend roughly $1,000 a year on non essentials (leashes, collars, tags, harnesses).

I hope that helps a little :)

·
DobieToons
308 Posts
I have 2...
Other than the weekend competition costs that DogsR4Life posted (since my two are not in any type competitions) ....the costs are about average of what I spend.
We also do not have the $10k in savings....Instead, our vet has a Medical Emergency insurance plan we carry. It is up to $12,500 (with an initial $1250 down payment and $500 deductible per incident) for both Bandit and Smokie and covers everything besides routine visits, testing, xrays and shots.
It is $55 a month.

$500 a month is close for BOTH of my two.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Wow, some people here sound like they are maintaining Audis or Mercedes instead of dogs!
The cost is skewed higher in the first year due to the ears. After that it goes down and levels off. Just figure shots and food and any accessories you want to add.