Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Premium Member
14,952 Posts
Over the years I have accumulated a bunch of crates of all sizes. And with two exceptions I bought them all at yard sales and they were dirt cheap--small ones as little as $5 and big ones maybe $20. Which doesn't solve your immediate problem. The one I actually bought at retail and use for all small puppies was a 300 VariKennel. Most of the time it lives as a spacer in the canopy with a 400 VariKennel--but even my biggest dogs can (and will voluntarily choose to get in that one).

And you can block off part of bigger crates (the wire crates often have a moveable divider to use) for smaller puppies.

Or you can go to yard sales.

dobebug

· Registered
65 Posts
I’m looking at a 36x27x26H soft sided to keep male/female separate while travelling, since I have no experience w females this is good for the girl? 👍

The next size up is 42x30x29H is a little too big for one of my other vehicles 🤔

Tire Wheel Vertebrate Motor vehicle Dog

· Registered
599 Posts
In Rottweilers a 36" crate is sometimes referred to as a "bitch crate," and a lot of people use them at shows and in cars. I don't know if they also use them at home, but for me 36" seemed too small to be really comfortable, and I used a 42" for my females, who all weighed about 85 pounds.