Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I am new to Doberman talk and this is my first post! I am new to the Doberman breed as well. I have previously owned a German Shepherd. She was the best dog in the world. I had her from 2nd grade to my senior year of college. She was 13 and 1/2 and we sadly had to put her down in August 2017. I thought about getting another German Shepherd but knew that none could come close to my sweet Heidi. I didn't want to be constantly comparing another German Shepherd to her because that wouldn't be fair.
I've done some research on Dobermans and I am particularly drawn to them for their intelligence, loving nature, and tendency to be loyal to one person. I am wanting to get a boy and hopefully get him around December 2018. Since I am new to the breed I figured I should start doing my research early. I will most likely be living by myself next year and really want a loving companion that is also protective. I really like the characteristics and look of the European Doberman but seem to be struggling to find a good breeder in Texas.
I was hoping y'all could provide me with some suggestions. I am totally willing to travel somewhere else in the US to get him as well.
Any information about the breed or breeders will be greatly appreciated!

·
well trained hooman
765 Posts
It would be helpful if you could specify what characteristics exactly that you like about the "Euro" Doberman. There is a lot of marketing and misinformation out there, and I'm sure no one here wants you to get fooled by crappy breeder "branding". That being said, there are lots of experienced Dobe people here from all realms of the Dobe world. Good luck in your search!

Reactions: dobebug

·
Got mutt?
13,730 Posts
Welcome to DT.