Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
a.k.a. LupusSpirit
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Two questions:

I know there are many threads on here concerning vWD DNA testing but I haven't found one that concerns the vWD factor test. I work as a vet assistant but this disease perplexes me and I've seen vets be wrong before... my girl came back with a carrier percentage of 60%. The vet told me this is a good thing and it is ok for her to be spayed without complication. She told me the lower the percentage the worse it is, vise versa the higher percentage the better. 60% still seems low to me.. I mean there is a 40% probability that she wont clot properly for her surgery? Or perhaps I'm understanding that incorrectly.

Also Rozzie has a peculiar habit of shaking. Her body trembles as if having a very mild siezure when she sleeps and she also trembles when very excited. I'm used to seeing this in all sorts of small dogs, or dogs that are very fearfull.. but not while sleeping or day to day living. Any thoughts?

·
Sea Hag
12,933 Posts
Two questions:

I know there are many threads on here concerning vWD DNA testing but I haven't found one that concerns the vWD factor test. I work as a vet assistant but this disease perplexes me and I've seen vets be wrong before... my girl came back with a carrier percentage of 60%. The vet told me this is a good thing and it is ok for her to be spayed without complication. She told me the lower the percentage the worse it is, vise versa the higher percentage the better. 60% still seems low to me.. I mean there is a 40% probability that she wont clot properly for her surgery? Or perhaps I'm understanding that incorrectly.