Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i visited a schutzhund club about 2 wks ago as i am very interested in the sport and respect how knowledgable sch ppl are. anyways i noticed that in obedience class kane is stressed, it just took someone who knew what they where talking about to tell me (a member said something when they evaluated kane). so i changed how we train at home we now use lots of play and more clicker but in general a more intense playful experience. now i am a novice and we are only in intermidiate class and the biggest issue is kane wants to play with the other dogs. he wont take food or his toy at our class and i cant disrupt the class trying to get him into play mode with me. so i am looking for suggestions on how to get his enthusiasum up in class cuz i cant really build his focus if he is stressed.
now there is a beginner class right before mine would going in early and playing with him in the area but not distracting of the class help or perhapse going early and kenneling him so he is excited when class starts? any and all idea would be appreciated.

·
Registered
9,449 Posts
Is there an area you can go to where you can do what you need as far as getting him playing? Can you go far enough away he can eithe rplay or take treats?

How is he outdoors around other dogs? Can you go to an area with dogs, be far enough away you can get him working and work on focus?

Reactions: MeadowCat and Shoei

·
Registered
2,803 Posts
Maybe he is not used to working with distractions. Everyday, while out on your walk, pick a park or area and do a 5 minute OB session. As the weeks go by, pick areas that have more distractions and once you see 100% focus, pick another area with even more distractions.

It's a build up, be patient, and always make it fun.

·
Eat Poo and Die
2,193 Posts