Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's been 5 months since my girl's ears were cropped at 12 weeks of age. Since her crop and posting, its been a job and a half posting because she tries to find every way possible to rip or scratch the posts and cause irritation in her ears.

At this stage, her ears still aren't standing perfectly upright and right now I'm letting them air out because she got them infected so now they need some healing time. I'm just wondering if I should keep posting them or not after the infection is resolved. In clock orientation terms her ears stand at about 9.5 and 2.5. I've included a picture. Has anyone else had such a challenge with their puppie's ears?

athena.jpg

·
Premium Member
Mocha
3,912 Posts
When you take the posts out, the ears won't stand for at least a while? I'm no expert, but from what I've read here and elsewhere, it depends on the crop, length of the ears, and the ear cartilage - some people end up posting up to a year. I would think that after 5 months of posting, the ears would stand for a bit once the posts are removed. We posted till our girl was almost 6 months old.

How are you posting? Check out this very good thread:http://www.dobermantalk.com/ear-cro...ting-directions-photo-tutorial-my-method.html

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm using the method you just referenced in the link. My girl has had issues with the edges of the ears getting infected and that is due to the fact that no matter what method and means I've used she is a total tomboy who would find any way to dislogdge or damage the posts and get matter under them. On 3 separate occasions I've had to stop posting to treat the injuries she's caused her ears which is where I'm at now. If the posts are in for 4-5 days and I take them out, the ears try to stand on their own for a minute before flopping at a point about 55-60% up the ear.