Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all...I'm new to DobermanTalk, but not new to owning Dobermans. My husband and I just purchased a 16 week old Doberman pup, Hobie. We purchased her from what we thought was a reputable breeder in North Carolina. We live in North Florida, so we picked her up Saturday a week ago, and drove her home (7 hours). She has yet to bond with us. AT ALL.

A little back story...she and her sister were the only two pups left in their litter, and lived in the breeder's house for the better part of the last two months. Her sister was sold on Sunday, she had her ears cropped on Thursday (way too late, in my opinion, but that's a different story...), and we picked her up on Saturday. At that point, I assumed her lethargy was due to the surgery and medication. Extreme lethargy continued to the extent that I rushed her to our vet Tuesday morning, certain that she had some sort of infection. Nope. Clean bill of health, and a "prime specimen" to boot.

But here's the catch...she just lays around ALL THE TIME. She doesn't come when we call her (obviously she doesn't know her name yet, but I can sit in the floor and make noises and have treats and toys and she just ignores me), she absolutely REFUSES a leash (she just digs her nose into the ground and won't walk at all), and she runs and hides from my husband while shaking (who has done nothing but love and cuddle her). She does love to cuddle, and if I sit close to her she will velcro to me in true Dobe fashion, but otherwise nothing. She doesn't run or jump or play in any way. She's eating normally and going to the bathroom normally.