Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are looking for a breeder in Texas or Oklahoma. I'm not sure where to start. I would appreciate any guidance.

·
u mad?
6,476 Posts
Texas has some great breeders. My boy is from Rhapsody in Austin. There are other members here with dogs from Texas breeders including Sunburg, Touchstone, and Merrimac.
Make sure you do your research on any breeder though because while Texas has some great ones there are also some breeders in this state that I wouldn't touch with a 10 foot pole.

·
sweep the leg
1,016 Posts
Hi Becky, welcome!

I started my search several months ago first by visiting the DPCA's site and reviewing the Breeder Referal page. I studied the websites of the breeders in my area (for those that had sites) and narrowed down my choices. Then I searched those breeders here on DT just to gain some firsthand knowledge by those far more savvy than I was. DPCA is a great place to start but it's not a guarentee that the breeder mentioned is reputable. This forum will fill in any gaps for you. All my homework led me to a local breeder, Sunking, and I purchased my first dobe pup in June.

You will never regret your effort to do it the right way, so it's great that you're asking questions! This forum will be a phenomenal resource for you.

·
Owned by Dobes since 1975
30,675 Posts
Welcome to DT!

Good luck with your research and search for just the right pup or dog.

If you get the chance, please check out a few Rescue Doberman in your area too!

Rescues are the BEST! :)

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Hi Becky!

I would start with the North Texas Doberman Rescue....they are close by.

Have a great day!
I did started there, found a dog that we were very interested in, but their new rules state that you cannot have a child younger than 7. Our kiddos are 2 and 6.

Thanks for all the great suggestions!

·
Registered
55 Posts