Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Lil Devil
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to DT and still trying to learn how to navigate through this site. Well, I've been looking for a European Doberman for some time but can't seem to find any that I like. Personally, I prefer the looks and build of a Euro. I'm not new to the Doberman breed. Also I am in the US, California specifically. I'd like to know where I can get a well bred Euro in the US? I do like the looks of the Dobes on the site below.

texaseurodobermans - Texas Euro Dobermans -- Home

·
Super Moderator
15,472 Posts
You will really not find reputable breeders in the us breeding show line European dogs. The reason being there is no where for Euro show dogs to be shown and titled here, so breeders can't really achieve anything by breeding them- they would only be breeding pets (which is a no-no). You may have some luck looking for a working dog breeder who uses show line Euro dogs in their breeding program, but again, if you want good European showline conformation I doubt you will find what you want there either. Working dogs are often small and athletic in build and not many have good show conformation.

Unfortunately there are tons of Euro "greeders" out there trying to make a quick buck off you, so beware! My suggestion is to go to a reputable AKC show breeder instead, one who's breeding a line who's type is more aligned with your preferences.

·
Lil Devil
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3