Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd like to teach Roz to catch objects that I throw to her, like one of her toys or a treat. Is there any trick to doing this? So far I am just tossing her a stuffy over and over again and any time she catches it, clicking and giving her a treat. Is there a better, more gradual method of escalating to the catch that any of you might have used in the past? I think I should be picking a different action and clicking more often. (She's not very good at catching and is content to let them hit her then pick them up off the ground.) Should I click every time she opens her mouth to try and catch it rather than just letting it hit her? I'm new to clicker training, so this is probably super obvious.

·
Registered
732 Posts
gotta ask my 8 year old how she does it... somehow she has taught Finn to catch and retrieve as well. She even tought drop it. Kinda cool. It took him a while to catch, but, she was consistent with trying and at 9 months pretty impressive. They have lots of fun together with a frisbee or ball.

·
Registered
2,803 Posts
Chase was never played with, just sat outside 24/7 to 'guard' two acres of dirt :(

I really wanted to show him how fun it is to be a dog, and what is more fun than to let their pray drive take over. I got Chase interested in the toy by making it something he REALLY wants. I get him all fussy and excited and when he is watching the toy i throw it in the air.

His interest and retrieval skills are not the best, maybe after 3 throws he just likes to watch the toy land at his feet...then walk away lol.

Squeaky toys work best

·
Registered
12,009 Posts
I think all dobes have it (just not every dog breed though).
And I don't do clicker training or bait with treats (totally against it)....100% eye focus & trained desire to please, is essential
I can make it happen, through earlier foundations of stimulating play sessions.