Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Random question-do your dobies swim? Beau likes to wade in but hasn't had the courage to go past shoulder deep yet...he is a blue and has a thin coat so we definitely haven't tried too much since it has been the chillier half of the year (I refuse to call it winter if there isn't snow!)

He is very ball driven so I think that we will eventually be able to get him to swim I was just curious...but for your viewing pleasure now watch this super funny video of him trying to "will his ball to come closer" (he makes his typical sound in the beginning which sounds like whining or humming-do your dobies make this sound?? Also, don't worry he eventually got his ball back!

Beau really wants the ball but not to swim! - YouTube

A couple more fun pics:
Beau acting as the Joker at the dog park :)

When I was trying to practice doing a patient physical exam (I am a medical student) on my husband...when I got to doing a knee exam he laid here:

Man I love this baby of mine...

·
Registered
78 Posts
Swim

My two dogs love to swim. When I teach them to swim in the pool I put a long line on them and pull them across the pull to keep their back legs floating and moving. It prevents them from doing the typical doggy paddle when they can't feel the bottom of the floor. It will only take a couple of times for them to get comfortable, now my dogs jump in the water and dive for the ball. Good luck

Reactions: Sherryh

·
Registered
9,449 Posts
Yes but she can't swim and doesn't know it. We supervise very carefully at the river and usually wade in with her. If we go somewhere where it's dangerous (like a dock and you can't wade in) she wears a life jacket and still thrashes about! Yet still GOES In.

·
Registered
370 Posts