Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Bladerator
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Blade is 5.5 month old and I think he's starting to become very strong minded. I'm sure that's just his personality and character.
Well I started training with the "Command Collar".. "Yank & Crank" method.
After reading up on it, I quickly ended that CRAP!!
He was only obeying out of fear of a correction..
Now he is so happy and has a very positive drive.
The problem is that now I don't really know a positive way to make corrections, besides putting him in time out, which he HATES!!
Example:: He bits on my shoes, I kneel down to him, show him the shoe and tell him NO... Then lock up for about 5-10 min.
Few minutes later, or later that night, I find him in his favorite spot(bathroom) with the same shoe again!!
Lock up for even longer but the problem still keeps on.
He also likes to sniff the garbage and pull things out if he wants it..

I don't want to hit or yell.. I know there has to be something i'm doing wrong.. Does anyone have any suggestions??

BTW- He does his other commands perfect without breaking or releasing without the ok.. Sit, down, stay, come, turn, off,...

·
terriorist entertainer
2,404 Posts
With a good solid handle on the basics....you have great tools to redirect him to something he can chew on and play with!

Look at it from his child-like non english speaking perspective...he chews on a shoe...it feels good, it smells of you ....you catch him at it, and show him the shoe and then hide it, with all its wonderful tracking scent for him to go find it. ;) ...reward...om nom nom on the shoe (feels so good!) :D