Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At the risk of embarassing myself (and Rowan ;)) I am hoping some of you can give me some advice and feedback. I am hoping to enter Rowan in a UKC show in a few weeks to practice my handling skills as well as getting him some more ring experience.

He is not quite 17 months and his handler and some of other show people I've met have suggested giving him some more time to mature before trying the AKC ring again...so hopefully he will still turn out, but any advice or feedback is appreciated. I am a novice to showing and am too nervous to try AKC but I think I can get enough courage to give UKC a try. Any critique on his strenghts/weaknesses and how to maximize or minimize would be nice too...just try to go easy on me!

Here are a few pics from today, sorry not the greatest :/

·
Storm's Mom
118 Posts
Two things I can comment on, his hind legs need to be parallel from the ground, so they need to be back just a little bit further and his front legs need to be directly under his shoulder. Other than that, I think you will do awesome! UKC is very fun and you never know, you might get a chance at that BIS ribbon! It's a great place to learn and have people help you. Judges comment often too and don't have any problems stopping for a moment to explain what you could do better to improve your handling skills. Good luck, he is a GORGEOUS red boy! I'm a sucker for the reds ^_^ Please let us know how you do!

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you. Yes, I think I need to keep practicing in front of a mirror. Looking at the pics it is so much easier to see the problems.

Should he be sort of leaning forward? I feel like I can get him so that his hocks are perpendicular and the front feet are right under him and then he shifts his weight and throws everything off. :/

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·