Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
653 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to a show this weekend, nice and local.. to Paris France! 720 miles round trip but worth it!

For those who dont understand how the shows work in Europe i'll give a very quick explanation so you understand my results.

there are 4 places available, 1-4.
Dogs are graded Excellent, very good, good, unsatisfactory, disqualified.

Top awards are CAC (you require these for a CH title, different amount in different countries) and a CACIB (Best of breed and required for international titles)

In order to be eligible to challenge for the CAC you need to be graded excellent. You can win a class but the judge does not need to grade you excellent.

Correct me if i am wrong but i am still new to showing out there and it is slightly more complicated than the UK.

We set out on friday morning, late.. as per usual!
Met up with Darren and Sam who own Enzo (Newfords Fame Monster JW) and headed out to the Euro tunnel and in france some 35 minutes later!

We were due to meet the breeder of Zara and Enzos sire for supper but combine my inability to put the correct address in Sat Nav with driving on the wrong side of the road and way way way too many traffic lights we didnt get there till 11 pm!! This didnt stop us from having a nice Curry with great company!

Finally asleep by about 2am, dogs all walked and settled in the hotel room... alarms off for 6am! ha!

Off to the show all settled in after bringing 7 cages and 8 dogs in.. 1st in was Enzo.

Because we are allowed to double handle his owner who normally shows him was better placed outside the ring calling him so his sires breeder handled him for us.