Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello New Guy here,
I have a 7 Month old Female pup (I Have had the pup since 5.5months old). I must Admit I am new to posting but I asked my vet he showed me how to post so I continue to keep ears taped.

First Problem.
The tape (medical cloth type) keeps causeing sores. I have to remove tape after a few days treat the ears let them dry out and scab over before I re-tape.

Second Problem.
I have been very diligent about this I am a truck driver So my pup is with me 24/7 I keep her distracted from scratching and removing tape. However the ears continue to flop over. I don't know if I am just wasting time at this point however I am going to seek ya'lls advice.

Third Problem.
The breeder told me the crop was done late (12 or 13 weeks I think) is that my real problem?

Your advice and council will be appreciated.
Jon

·
Registered
3,262 Posts
Breeders tend to have the crop performed around 7 weeks of age, so the ears have time to heal and get their first posting before going home to their new owners. Cropping can be done successfully at 12 weeks, but the older the puppy gets after 7-8 weeks, the less chance the have of standing. It all depends on the quality of the ear leather and also the quality of the crop.

Members here have been known to continue posting well into the dog's 2nd year of life, sometimes as long as 18 months. Keep the faith, keep on posting!

http://www.dobermantalk.com/puppy-corner/47747-ear-posting-directions-photo-tutorial-my-method.html

This is probably one of the best photo tutorials out there for posting methods. I think Zonas tape is the best that you can get for the job. I wish you the best of luck in getting those ears to stand! Be patient!!

·
Registered
16,037 Posts