Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to buying from breeders. I know generally what to ask and what to look for and I am looking to adopt my first doberman. It's not my first dog, just the first of this breed.

I spoke to a breeder near me and everything went well at first. However I asked about health testing and early puppy socializing and their response made me unsure. They do not test the puppies for health at all and told me no breeder health tests the puppies, only the parents. When asked about the parents, they told me they tested for DCM 1 and 2, vWD, and hips. They do not test for DM or thyroid.

They also do not socialize the pups beyond handling by a few people, not even with the other dogs in their house. As I said, I am new to this, and I would like more experienced buyers' two cents on this. I would be paying a lot for this puppy so I want to be sure that I get a good pup from a reputable breeder.

There is another breeder within reasonable driving distance from me but their communication with me has been nearly nonexistent. I hope to get good feedback from the rest of you soon. Thank you!

·
Registered
67 Posts
For health testing, I would not consider any breeder not doing holter monitoring and echocardiograms on their dogs. DCM is probably the biggest killer of dobermans these days and the genes DCM1 & 2 are not good indicators of whether or not a dog will get DCM. Look at holter and echo results for indications of heart health. Also useful to know what ages the parents are and what ages the grandparents are or when/how they passed.

I haven't heard of breeders doing health testing on puppies beyond genetic testing and vet visits for general wellness and shots. A breeder not following a specific puppy program wouldn't be a red flag for me, but the puppies' lives should still be enriched in other ways.