Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
RE: HELP new owner cropped ears problem!

Hello all,

I am new to dobermantalk, it has been a great resource helping me raise my 4 month old Doberman, Jazz. I learned how to post ears properly from this website.

Ok, so here are some pictures of my dog. He has a short/medium crop. I have recently let them out of the posts for a few days. They stand very nicely in some poses, but quite often he scrunches his face and his ears "fold in". His left ear will fold over his forehead a bit. They are supposed to stand straight up like this: (|_|) but instead are more like: /_\

I hope you can get the picture from the following attached snapshots. Sorry for the bad quality.

Anyway, I post them exactly according to instruction, but when he gets in his kennel he goes to sleep on his left ear and it bends the post inside over his forehead. I had heard you could tape a popsicle stick in between the ears to make them stay apart at the correct length, but I was worried about putting something inflexible in his posts since he could hurt himself when he rolls over or is playing.

Has anyone else seen this on shorter crops?

Any ideas on what to do? Should I just keep posting as before?

Thanks for the help!

Attachments

·
Sirai Dobermans
2,100 Posts
He's got a pocket in his left ear and possibly one in the right but it's hard to tell from the picture.

Are you using the bumper method in the tutorial posted here? If so, are you pulling the ears up far enough?

I don't use braces in the middle (or popsicle sticks) on ears that have pockets. His ears should be posted at the 10 & 2 position with the bumper to work the pocket out.

FYI-pockets can happen regardless of the length of the crop. It means the posting is not being done correctly.

·
BYB Hunter
1,058 Posts