Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So when I first got Rocko we used a clicker. He learned quickly and showed a lot of confidence. When I started training with my current mentor I stopped using a clicker but stayed using positive methods and utilizing operant conditioning. We replaced the click with YES.

My question for people who use a clicker is do you use a bridge term. What I mean by that is I use Yes as my marker and I use Good as a bridge. So in my training:

Yes=your doing what I want, your reward is available
Good=your doing what I want, keep doing it
No=your not giving the desired behavior keep trying(no punishment is associated with this word, it is used primarily in shaping a desired behavior)
Stop=Your knowingly not doing what i asked and your punishment is being applied

I believe the technical term for good as is used in my training is a"tertiary conditioned positive reinforcer". I guess the reason I am asking is, when I see people who use a clicker in training, How do you build a complex behavior, without a command unless you click/treat for every motion of the exercise. I think any positive training method is great and am huge advocate of the practice of them.

Not wanting a War of methods just some people familiar with them to give me some feedback. I'm simply trying to learn more,Thanks!

·
sufferin succotash
9,168 Posts
ok, I'll try to explain this so it makes sense over the interweb.

I did replace "Yes" as my marker, instead of the clicker. However, I don't use "no reward markers" if the behavior I want isn't achieved and to keep training simple. You perform the action I want, the behavior is rewarded with a click or a Yes. Telling the dog he's doing something wrong leaves the door open for confusion, IMO.

This might explain it better: "NRMs" No Reward Markers | Karen Pryor Clickertraining

·
Registered
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks S&M Mom for the reply: