Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We do not feed raw, but I would like to give Rowan raw bones for a treat and to help clean his teeth periodically. I have to be honest I'm completely clueless, so I was hoping you guys could steer me in the right direction. Some of the questions I have:

What types of bones are best (what animal and what parts)?

How big/how often can/should he have them?

I know they should be frozen to kill bacteria, but do you give them frozen or thaw them first? (sorry if thats a dumb question)

Where do you get your bones and what is a good estimate on prices?

And since he has never had a raw bone are there any tips on introducing them without upsetting digestion?

Thanks.

Reactions: RottenVonSpotten

·
u mad?
6,476 Posts
I'm no expert on this but I give Dreizehn half a femur bone once a week. I have this really nice grocery store nearby and they sell packs of these bones (one bone, two halves) for stews or something. He loves them. I know some people feed turkey necks as treats too, I don't know what else. I've found that at the more upscale grocery stores, not the regular ones, that cut meats onsite will sometimes sell the femur and knuckle bones that they have left over really cheap. Thats how I usually get mine.

·
Living la Vida Loca!
2,615 Posts
Maybe you can see if you have a raw dog food store near you. I have one around the corner from me and I can buy a big bag (size of a grocery store plastic bag) of knucklebones for about $3 canadian. I also have found some nice big marrow bones at local butchers for about $1 a bone. Coco eats raw everyday so her teeth are nice and white. She also loves dehydrated windpipes (trachea) as treats. These seem to help keep her teeth looking great. I also agree on the turkey necks as a great option.

Reactions: SpecialK

·
Super Moderator
21,983 Posts