Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! This is my first time posting. After much research my fíance and I have decided to embark on the journey of getting our first Doberman. This is also our first time dealing with breeders. I was a vet tech for years so in the past all of my animals were more or less rescues from my work or off the street so this process is all new to us!

I found a very promising lead on the AKC Marketplace, which I've been told is a good place to start when looking for reputable breeders, for Michelle Lupin of Willow Brook Kennels in Temecula, California. So far so good in communication, very friendly and responsive. Set up an appointment to view pups on Friday.

So I am pleased so far but I am a very research oriented person and I have found nothing online or on the forums about this specific breeder! Which is totally fine, sometimes people don't have much of an online presence. I'm just so anxious about choosing the right pup and my coping mechanism is research, research, research! The sire is Tres Beauart Of The Deal (WS60718107) and the dam is Willowbrooks Cocoa Chanel WDPC (WZ01788907). Perhaps I am not well versed in how to use the AKC website but when I tried searching them I couldn't find any additional information on the parents besides just their names.

Additionally, if no one has any information on this specific breeder, any tips on what I should be looking for on our first visit? The pups will be only about 4 weeks old so we won't be able to handle them. I'm reading up on all the stickied threads but any personal experience tips are totally appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
21,134 Posts
As Mary said, I would pass on a breeder that is breeding a Doberman that has bred a WZ registered dog. Even if the litter doesn't have albinos, it tells me that they don't know enough about the breed for me.