Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I'm new to this thread, and this is my first post. First of all I'd like to just say hi to everyone, I've read a number of threads on this board and I've already learned lots from all you wonderful Doberman owners!

Now to my situation:
I'm getting a black male in about a week, he'll be 8 weeks old. I'm unbelievably excited and this will be the first dog I own that is all mine! Now I'm a university student, I'm studying biology at the University of Waterloo, and I'm on a co-op cycle, meaning that every 4 monthes I alternate in between studying, and doing co-op placements. I start a job in Ottawa in the fall, which will be roughly 2-3 weeks after I get my little baby. Now I'm going to be at work for about 8 hours a day, and I'd prefer not to have to come home at lunch. My mother however is home all day, running a daycare(plenty of child socialization), and my little brother is getting a puppy too(mini australian shepherd). So the dog will certainly not be left alone during the day. I know that doberman's form strong bonds with one owner in particular, but I'm worried that by being at work for most of the day, my puppy will become more attached to my Mother. I plan on being the one who feeds him, walks him, and does the majority of his training. I'm gonna try to limit the amount of affection and training my mother does with the puppy. Obviously she'll enforce house breaking and what not and who can resist puppy kisses here and there? Taking these precautions though, do you guys think there will be an issue with the dog seeing me as the primary owner? What else can I do to help this? I'm moving back to University after four monthes, with the dog of course, so it's very important that the dog forms a strong bond with me. Thanks everyone!

·
Holier Than Now
22,475 Posts