Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I am a newb here and I have a few questions. We have a 10 week old puppy that my wife and I got at 7 weeks old due to the mother being hit by a car. She is really sweet and smart but I'm having a few issues with her. The biggest issue I have is that she doesnt respond to her name when we call her. I would think afte 3 weeks she would recognize her name but she doesn't even turn and look at us when called. I know there isnt anything wrong with her hearing but she just seems unresponsive when called. Maybe she is just hard headed. Haha. I just worry that if she ever got outside without a leash she wouldnt respond to me calling her. Any advise?

Along with not responding to her name, she doesn't come when I say "come". What advise on training for this would you recommend? Leash training to "come"?

She also is a biter. I have read where a few others were having biting issues with their puppy also on DT. Hopefully with patience and age she will grow out of the biting while we are playing.

Thank you in advance for the help. I have had many dogs but this is my first dobe. She is so easy to train in some ways but yet so hard to train in other ways.

·
Registered
2,778 Posts
She's ten weeks old... you don't get to play the "hard to train" or "hard-headed" cards LOL!

You have a completely normal pup who should get herself to puppy class with you, so that you can learn how to train her.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I cannot comment on the deaf aspect but I do know you need to entice your pup to come! Perhaps reward her if she looks at you when you say her name. Once she masters this, then reward her when she actually comes with the command "come!"

If outside, a good trick is to run the opposite direction and yell "come!" that normally gets most pups to follow!

And yes!! Puppy classes will help train YOU and the pup:)

·
Registered
2,656 Posts