Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Vet recommends giving cotton balls to retrieve sharp objects to protect intestines while passing. Anyone here have success with this method?
I think my dog may have eaten possible 3 saftey pins. One large, 2 medium. I'm giving plenty of water to keep things moving along. I'm just worried that there may end up being damage from the "watch and see" the cotton balls work method. But I would definitely prefer this method to work over surgery!

Reactions: Darkevs

·
Super Moderator
Hairy Dog, RIP Caesar, Katana, Kip, Capri
26,450 Posts
I've no answer for you really, except to say the cotton ball method seems to be recommended by lots of folks. Anyway, we'll be thinking of you guys--hope everything "comes out" (pun intended) alright for you.

·
Registered
2,944 Posts
Ouch, I have no experience but wish you all the best. I guess you will need to do some poo checking later today and if theres nothing there go into the vet for scans?

·
Registered
5,026 Posts
What is the difference between your dog eating the stuffing out of a toy say and you feeding it cotton wool balls. Surely they could cause a blockage just the same as could the toy stuffing? Or am I being dense. Hope not.

·
Got mutt?
13,839 Posts
Question: were the safety pins open or closed? If it were me, I'd want an xray.
Open or closed ws the first thing I thought of also. I've heard of feeding bread to a dog that has swallowed something sharp, like pins, but not cotton balls.

Any updates?

·
Registered
7,613 Posts
I hope Ziva passes them with no problems.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·