Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm new to DT and need some advice. I'm looking to get a doberman puppy from Pamelot in GA. I saw on her website that she does ear cropping....my personal taste would be to leave it natural. Does anybody have a doberman from her that isn't cropped? Thanks for all your help!

·
Registered
9,449 Posts
I know ADAMAS is in her same state and has left one or two uncroppped BUT I don't know the specifics.

Reactions: brw1982

·
Pro Snake Wiggler
2,288 Posts
Many show breeders will actually not sell an uncropped dog. Period. I do not know if Pamelot is one of them. You can always ask her if that would be a possibility.

Reactions: dobeyluv

·
Holier Than Now
22,475 Posts
Hi I'm new to DT and need some advice. I'm looking to get a doberman puppy from Pamelot in GA. I saw on her website that she does ear cropping....my personal taste would be to leave it natural. Does anybody have a doberman from her that isn't cropped? Thanks for all your help!
Yes, she literally does ear cropping.

You would have to discuss it with her, no one here could answer that question for you.

·
u mad?
6,476 Posts
Ask the breeder, if they are young enough, there is no reason she should force a crop.
There actually are reasons why many reputable breeders opt to crop all of their puppies. The two major reasons are...
1) Grading the litter (for show vs pet quality) generally doesn't happen until after the preferred age for cropping.
2) It's much harder to rehome (if need be) a natural-eared doberman because part of what draws many people to the breed is "the look" of the cropped dog.

I know I've heard a few more but I cannot really recall them at the moment.

·
Registered
345 Posts