Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those of you that don't know my story I recenly intorduced myself and my new Doberman rescue in the introductions. Anyway sofar Lady has no clue what sit stay and no mean lol. I've had some experience training my other rescues who were completely brain dead to commands, but I'm not sure where or how to start with Lady. I recently adopted out a GSD mix who was a holly terror when I got him, I worked on NILF with him and he turned out to be a smart litttle bugger. I'm not sure if the same aproach would be good for Lady since she really should have love and affection wether she sits or not lol. When I tell her to sit she looks at me like I'm from another planet, and before I can get to the next step of makeing her sit she looses intrest and walks away. She's getting fed so much right now that treats aren't that interesting. I'm just wondering if I could let the obedience training go for a while untill she's built up and on a normal eating regimine and then work with her? Will it set me up for falure later on? She's a wonderful girl and listens to the important things such as no couch, and she heals on leash. She comes when called, and sofar is very polite and calm with new people. If she never sat on command it wouldn't bother me any lol, I just don't want her to think it's her way or the highway. Any suggestions would be great!

·
Registered
521 Posts
I would do clicker training that is with a clicker and treats. Positive Reinforcment. Theres alot of info out there for clicker training. Good Luck she sounds like she has a loving home.

·
Registered
3,593 Posts
I'm not sure if the same aproach would be good for Lady since she really should have love and affection wether she sits or not lol