Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

We are about to get a white doberman pup from the rescue shelter. He isnt old enough yet so we are still waiting.

I was wondering if there is any input anyone would like to give us. We are a family of 2 and we have 0 dog experience.

We are wondering if the white dobermans have more health problems than other dobermans. Also, are there any specific questions I should be asking the shelter about this pup?

Thank you all in advance.

·
sufferin succotash
9,168 Posts
I have no experience with albinos but here's some info from the DCPA. A few members have rescued an albino dobe so they might provide more info.

We know that these dogs are photophobic, (sensitive to sun light). They have vision problems resulting from abnormal development of the retina.
They are prone to skin cancer and skin lesions. Due to the lack of pigment, they are extremely susceptible to skin damage from the sun.
Poor temperament is a significant concern. Due to the intense inbreeding to obtain the mutation, the temperaments on a great many are totally unstable. These problems range from fear biting to outright vicious attacks. Shyness is prevalent. Most are not suitable for homes with small children. Yes, there are exceptions, but hardly enough to make them acceptable to most families.
source: DPCA | The Doberman | Albino | What is albino

·
Super Moderator
Hairy Dog, RIP Caesar, Katana, Kip, Capri
26,447 Posts