Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I just got a new puppy 3 weeks ago, my first large breed dog (former Yorkie owner.. I know, don't laugh!! ^_^) Anywho, the lady I bought him from says he's a mixed breed, and vet says he's mostly Dob... I'm posting a pic so I can get your feedback.

My main concern is this is my first time having not only a large breed dog, but a doberman.. I know they are intelligent and require certain special things.. My question is: What are those things???

A little about my Tuffy (I know.. but it's cute!) He is SUPER hyper active. He's about 3 1/2-4 months old, (the lady didn't know his age, vet told me when I got him he was no more than 3 months so I guess now he's just under 4) I got him potty trained (except when he's playing really hard or excited he has accidents: is that normal?) He chews EVERYTHING!!!! He ate 2 holes in my wall while I slept (then I started crating him at night) but he chews anything he can put in his mouth... Including ripping the hair off of things (my head when I'm on the floor with him, his toy lion that I threw away, my carpet-though I may have broken him from that, just not sure how I did it...) He is very hard-headed and yet he is soooo much fun and so cute and a fast learner (it took me 2 days to teach him sit, stay, come, go eat not all on the same 2 days though). I'm attributing all this to him being a puppy and his learning to his breed. But he is also a barker.. really really loud... (Yappy Yorkies are completely different than his barks..)