Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

My name is Jenn and I am still relatively new to DT. I joined a while ago but I mostly just lurk rather than post. I have a six month Doberman named Leda, two mixed breed rescues named Ophelia and Jack, and then a 13 year old min. schnauzer named Kiko.

Leda is my first Doberman. My husband always loved Dobermans. I honestly didn't feel a strong pull one way or another (I always preferred German Shepherds since I grew up with them), but after meeting a few, began to really appreciate the breed. I was hesitant on purchasing a Doberman for quite a while since I had read about various health concerns (when I realized my husband was seriously considering a Doberman, I began reading books on the breed like it was going out of style), but overall, came to the conclusion that most breeds do have a greater risk in comparison to a mixed dog.

After finally deciding to purchase, we began researching breeders. This was the first time we ever looked at buying a dog from anywhere other than the SPCA, and to be honest, I really wasn't sure on what warning signs to be aware of. I guess I was a bit naiive thinking people are honest and upfront. We left numerous breeders in our area because they appeared to be a bit suspicious. At the time, I didn't know what a "BYB" was ... learned that lesson later on, sadly. We ended up going with a breeder approximately ten hours away because of a friend's recommendation. Since we had such positive reviews from my friend and the breeder had positive referrals, one from a vet, we decided to purchase. That was a bad idea ... see any thread on Royale Dobermans and you'll understand why. I'm still in a court battle with the breeder, so I will not say any more on that topic.