Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
696 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi All!

I'm Mandy, I have been on the site about 5 days now. Im 29 married with three boys Jesse 12, Colton 10 and Dalton 8. I worked as a vet tech for 2 years an a groomer before that. I have a 3 and a half year old Boston Terrie named Raven. She is an absolute doll! I have grown up with dobermans as a kid, and have always wanted to own one. My husband and I decided (bravly) to take on two.

I posted first about the horrible esperience I had at the Vets while bringing my two 12 week old pups to have there ears cropped. As an update, we are going ahead and cropping Rowen in 9 days. (Making her 14 weeks at the time.) But Rayna with her sensitivity will not be cropped. Both are litter mates, and black and tan. Both are euro X Am blood, and I seem to have the best in both worlds in these two. I will get some pictures up soon.

Rayna and Rowen and all signed up for puppy classes starting the 18th of April. My husband Paul and I are excited to begin working with them. I have high hopes or doing Schutzhund, and/or Cadaver(sp?) work. I am having trouble finding the right people to help get us started. The local clubs don't seem to do much here in Maine. But we are going to keep searching. Any advice of some things we could try with the new pups, to help prepare them would be awesome! We are trying some touch and reward stuff with them now, and getting them use to the leash. They already got the sit command down pat. I don't want to over load them with commands this early.

I'm also concidering a 50/50 raw/kibble diet, I did read Kimdobes thread and it was great. Any info on how to start a pup off? And maybe a daily meal to compare to?

Thanks all, I look forward to getting to now all of you and your dogs!

~Mandy
Raven~ 3/F Black and White Boston Terrier
Rowen~ 13 weeks/F Black and Tan Doberman
Rayna~ 13 weeks/F Black and Tan Doberman