Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! This is my first time posting here, though I've been reading through posts for the past few days, mostly researching. I'm really, really interested in getting a doberman puppy, and have been trying to read up as much as I can on this breed. A couple family members have this breed, as well as one of my dearest friends, and they fully and whole-heartedly stand by it, and have really drawn me in.

The problem is, I have two small dogs. A toy poodle, and a chihuahua. Both are very well mannered dogs, very well socialized and are used to being around larger dogs.

My friends and family tell me that dobermans (dobermen?) raised around small animals/children typically do very well around them.

But, likewise, I've read the negatives, that dobies tend to have high prey drive and see little dogs as chew toys (or rag dolls) rather then packmates. That they tend to be better as an only dog (although all the actual owners I've talked to/read about have multiple dogs and they do just fine).

My question is, is the risk truly greater then usual with a dobie w/ small dogs, as opposed to say, a gsd or lab or whatever w/ small dogs? I've always been a firm believer that it's how you raise, socialize, and treat an animal that determines their temperment and behavior, and not the breed.

What sort of signs do you look for in a puppy when you're looking for one that will likely have low prey-drive?

Please help! My heart is set on one of these beautiful dogs, but I want to do what's best for everyone involved.

·
Registered
444 Posts
If either one of the dogs you have now are male then get a female. Get your puppy from a reputable breeder. Dobermans can get along with other dogs very harmoniously.

Maybe you could consider a rescue Dobe that you already know loves other dogs??

Lisa

Reactions: SchumiTEC

·
Heat Seeking Missile
522 Posts