Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I have been stalking this site for a couple of months now. I adopted a doberman a couple of weeks ago so I figured it was time to sign up.

Well like I said, I adopted Ruger a couple of weeks ago at the local shelter and they estimate that he is 1 year old. From what I have read on here, so far he has been an excellent dog. He is great with other dogs, large and small, in fact his buddy at the shelter was a chihuahua. He is also great with kids (I don't have any, but my nephews and niece came to visit and he loved them). He did escape from his crate while I was at work (smart boy) and when I saw him waiting by the door for me I was expecting a disaster. To my surprise, he did not have an accident in the house and the only thing chewed up was my toothbrush (he has good personal hygiene). I already knew he was potty trained, but I was very proud that he held it the whole time considering that he was in an unfamiliar house. So after a new toothbrush and a gate to block the stairs, I figured I would let him have free roam of the house while I'm at work. It's been a couple of weeks and besides the shredding of paper towels and a DVD, he hasn't destroyed anything of value (I think he sleeps on the couch all day).