Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to doberman talk. I just got my puppy maverick's ears cropped on 3/5/12. the base of his ears looks a bit weird and I'm not sure how it's supposed to look at this point. It's only been 3 days since it was done. I just wanted to receive some opinions so I uploaded some pictures of them. Thanks.

·
Registered
939 Posts
Our Callie was cropped on 02/21, and looks much different than your boy. We haven't even begun the posting process. Our vet, a well known doberman breeder, crops the ears then glues them together over top of the head. On the third day, you take them down. They are left alone to heal, and stitches are taken out one week post-op (the top 1/3) then two weeks post off (the other 2/3). Third week is posting.

I've also never seen staples used, and it looks like there is tape over the healing edges of the crop? What vet did you take him to? Was it a cropper recommended by DT?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No, it wasn't. The staples were used because the stitches started to come out because he was being too rowdy. The vet let the ears stay down for a day and then taped them up when we came to get him.

·
Registered
939 Posts
Just for photo reference for you, this is what Callie's ear looked like for the first 3 days..

·
Got mutt?
13,818 Posts
I'm wondering why it looks like there are stiches on the front of the ear? The front (top) part of the ear isn't cut, so why would he have stiches there? And yeah, the staples are definitely something I've never seen on an ear crop before. It seems odd to me.

Reactions: longshot4me

·
Registered
939 Posts
I would do some serious thread searching here and find a good crop vet near you to take a look at his ears. His ears look like a mess. Cropping is truly an art form, and not every vet can do it, let alone- its not something they teach in veterinary school.

·
Registered