Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I've found the litter my next Dobie is coming from. I think I've just about got the breeder convinced that I can give one of her pups a good home.

I have three dogs right now, a half-Dobie female, and two Labs. One of the Labs is a male. He's 3 1/2 years old, and he acts like a big puppy. He's the one at the Dog Park who spends most of his time laying on his back letting the other dogs chew on his throat (playfuly of course).

My first choice for a Dobie pup would be a female. If I were to fall in love with one of the male pups, should I be concerned about how two boys would get along? Does anyone here have experience with two males in the house? Would two males guarantee trouble?

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
Chaz,
I'm not an expert on this, I've never had 2 males at a time. But I think the majority of responses to this question will warn against having two males. Doberman's notoriously suffer from male/male aggression. However, it makes sense that a male Dobe would have a better chance of getting along with a male Lab (more laid back type of dog) than a male from a dominant breed like another Dobe.
Of course there are exceptions to every rule and some have lived with multiple male Dobes with little or no problem.
I think your breeder should be able to help you with insight into this question though only because she will be better able to predict the overall temperment of the pup when he's mature.
I'm excited for you though! Are the pups born yet? If not, when are they due? Any pictures of sire and dam that you care to share??? You know we're crazy about pics here :)

·
Registered
1,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Pups are born. They're almost 3 weeks old. The breeder seems to be very interested as to where the pups are going. I'm happy she cares enough about her pups to be wanting to check me out.

·
Registered
1,646 Posts