Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have 2 Dobermans (one female and one male) and I'm trying to figure out how to get them to listen to me. Most of the time this is when i let them outside and when i am calling for them to come in. They look back and run the other way.They listen to my boyfriend and my son but not me. Is this a female thing or what? Any info would be appreciated since i am new with this.

·
Premium Member
8,442 Posts
First do you work with them on commands and do you mean what you say when you give a command. What I mean by this is that when you say sit, do you mean sit the first time or do you repeat yourself mutiple times. A dobie just like a kid knows how many times it takes before mom really means what she saids. If that is not the case then work with one at a time and have something that is of a high value to each of them. It may be food or a toy. Begin with a short leash and call their name having the high value treat ready to give as soon as they begin to move. Increase with longer leashes. How long will this take, until they have it mastered. Work on it daily for a few minutes a day always ending on a high note. I highly recommend attending a dog obedience class, these classes are not for the dog so much as it is for the owners. Good luck.

·
Registered
12,009 Posts
Its common for some women, to talk too softly and have a sweet voice...and dogs can truly sense this.

Just get your man face (game face) on, like when your SO needed a verbal bath...and taken to the cleaners...lol...comes with practice.

·
BYB Hunter
1,058 Posts
I highly recommend attending a dog obedience class, these classes are not for the dog so much as it is for the owners. Good luck.