Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
953 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Again not sure where to ask this lol. So I'm asking here ;) Since Bruno is still a puppy.

When do they normally start to lift their leg to pee? Weird question maybe, sorry lol. I'm just curious because we were told to get him fixed after he's mastered that. I'd like to get him fixed ASAP. But want to wait till he's learned to lift his leg. Is it just something that takes time? Very's from dog?

I'm new at this dog owner stuff. So please forgive the silly questions LOL :)

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
You were told to not get him fixed until after he's mastered the art of hiking? LOL that's a new one to me :)
I've only had 2 male dogs, one was neutered at a young age (8wks was standard when we were here last time) and hikes his leg with the best of them but we've never had a problem with him "marking" his territory. Petri on the hand wasn't neutered until around 9 months (just a few weeks after I got him); he marks EVERYTHING! and has been virutally impossible to housebreak because of it. Now I can't say that he'd be any different if he had been neutered before he became sexually mature, but he might have been.

There is dissenting opinion on when the best age is to neuter though. Talk to your vet about it and get his opinion. I'm of the opinion, the sooner the better but it's just my opinion and is not at all medically based.

If he's 5 months now, he may start hiking his leg and marking territory. Do you really want him to get into that habit?

On the other hand, I have a friend with an 8yr old unneutered male GSD that never hikes his leg, he never has either. So if you're waiting for that, you might be waiting a long time :)

·
Registered
953 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
LOL WOW @ 8yrs :/

I was just told it's better to do it then. Because he'll know how to hike his leg? I dunno.