Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in talks with the folks at Knockout for a puppy and wanted to hear the forum's thoughts. If you know them or have one of their progeny, please speak your mind!

I had a long talk with the breeder, a pathologist MD by trade. He was quite well spoken on the well-known problems Dobes have with poor DNA diversity as well as their associated health concerns. We had a good talk on the various tests available as well as their limitations.

But before I commit, I am hoping to travel to meet their Dobes & sniff a few butts in person. As always, I appreciate the collective love of the forum!

:thanx:

·
u mad?
6,476 Posts
I'm not sure I've heard of them, I definitely don't have one of their dogs... Their site looks pretty good but I"m not sure I saw any mention of health testing on it and that worries me. I know you said that he knew about the problems that dobermans have but was he or will he be able to provide proof of testing to you?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for those thoughts! @PatchworkRobot, he was willing to show me his testing results, but I haven't yet asked to see anything since we're talking about a 2013 puppy. I expect if I'm able to arrange an in-person meeting I'll see paperwork then, but you make an excellent point, and I absolutely will ask to see documentation.

I certainly wish that Dobes were just a little less worrysome, but my heart has already decided. And regardless of how it all shakes out (since none of us can predict everything, much as I would like to!!), I will do my best to research diligently, and deal with the results.

Much appreciated!!

·
Registered
72 Posts
I have not dealt with them personaly but was considering a puppy from their first litter. I did introuduce myself to Alexis at the nationals and she was very nice. I would not have a problem purchasing a puppy from them.

·
Registered