Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
http://www.katoba.com/dobermans

I was wondering if anyone has any information regarding this breeder. I was searching the DPCA's breeder referral site for breeders on the West Coast and I came across this person. Most of the breeders on the West Coast I am [somewhat] familiar with, but this one I haven't heard/seen anything about.

There are a few things that bothered me, and if I may I will list them out. Now, if this is not allowed please let me know so I can edit my post.

While I realize I'm not experienced with breeding or genetics, I thought that breeding vWD carriers together was a bad thing to do? Is there more of a chance of producing puppies that are affected or carriers than clear?

Two parts of the questionnaire concerned me. I have questions with some of the statements, maybe someone can better explain them to me?

Request for driver's license number. That was removed recently, as it used to be on there a few months ago so it probably doesn't matter now? Why would the driver's license number matter?

Katoba Dobermans are co-owned by breeder through end of contract; said Katoba Dobermans deemed to be of conformation status are handled by the breeder or other professional handler of breeders choosing.

Do a lot of show breeders require a professional handler and not allow the owner to show their own dog? How do people start showing if they can't show their own dog? What does it mean by through the end of contract? Co-owning isn't a problem, that I can understand. I am just confused about the other questions above lol.