Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Im new to the whole doberman thing and I was interested in getting a dobe puppy. I met a really nice guy by the name of John Ryan who is selling doberman pups. He has really helped me understand the doberman and talked to me about it he also states he has 30 years of experience with dobermans.
I searched his name on google and came to this site where many people are saying stay away from him. I'm wondering if I should stay away or purchase?

Can someone explain to me what I should do and show me proof also I'm VERY INTERESTED IN THE DOBERMAN BREED and want one soon so help me out please.

Also this is in Ontario, Canada.

Thank you so much

Del

·
Registered
4,800 Posts
There are a lot of posts that I think do go into detail as to why to stay away. What exactly are you looking for? Euro working dobe? Do you have previous dobe experience? All of that will help us give you some direction :) Who else have you looked at?

I know for me as a first time dobe owner it was so important to have a breeder that would be able to take my calls all the time. I think this guy has so many litters on the ground- that might be a challenge.

·
Registered
220 Posts
I looked into Von Ryans Luxus as well when I was first researching, and decided against them.
Use the search tool at the top of the forum to look him up and you will find some information/opinions about him and his kennel.

Good luck!

·
Registered
8,627 Posts
First off, search him on here and you'll figure out why people say to stay away.

Second, getting a doberman isn't something that should be rushed. Chances of getting a pup from a reputable breeder won't be an instant thing, it may take time!

·
Registered
2,680 Posts
Hi Del,