Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I am new to Dobermans. Do not have one yet but am looking into one and would absolutely LOVE to have my own.

My only question is if I am a fit owner? I have minimal experience with the breed, and am wondering if a breeder will even let me buy?

I am very experienced around dogs in general, and comfortable training different breeds. I have worked with other large, intelligent breeds (such as Husky, GSD, etc) so have a knowledge of training. I know to socialize/obedience train, etc. I also know to be firm.

I have a large backyard and plenty of time to devote to training/exercise/socializing/off-leash romps, etc. The dog would not have to spend much time alone (around 2 hours a day max) and I plan on utilizing obedience classes as well.

My question is this: Would you recommend a Doberman for me? I have minimal experience with the breed (very difficult since they are very rare in my region) but am comfortable training difficult breeds. I know they are intelligent and require a confident owner, which I believe myself to be. But would a breeder feel this way?

Thanks in advance for any answers!!

·
Get the bunnies!
7,024 Posts
Why do you want a Doberman? Have you met any in real life/what is your Doberman experience? What other dogs have you owned? Do you own any now?

I would expect those kinds of questions from a breeder :)

·
You can't kill the metal
832 Posts
If what you say is what you can provide for the dog then I would say yes.

I would look into rescuing one, personally, but to each his own.

I've never owned a doberman before nor have I had experience with one or training them but it's working out well for me!! I believe I got lucky with Lexi, she is a very well behaved and smart girl....most of the time ;)

I believe Male dobermans may give you a harder time if you want the challenge.

·
Registered
2,803 Posts