Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been looking into get a dog (for quite awhile) and the Doberman is the next breed on my list to look into. If anyone can tell me if this breed would suit me or perhaps guide me a little bit on my decision that would be great.

Anyhow, I'm a college student and I'm usualy gone for 4-5 hours for work then come home for an hour or so then head to class for 2-3 hours then I'm mostley at home for the rest of the night. I don't work weekends but I usualy hang out with friends or have them come over for part of the day. I also rent housing as I can't afford a house of my own right now and every single place I've had doesn't have a fensed yard so I doubt I will get one in the future. I also live with three other roommate and plan to atleast have one other roommate until I get my own place.

So now that you know a little about my situation my questions are:
1) Does the doberman handle being alone for hours at a time? I don't want to make my neighbor angry by having a whiney dog.
2) Is not having a yard really ok? I was planning on walking the dog for 30 minutes to an hour on weekdays and then taking him/her to the park on weekends.
3) Are dobermans friendly? I know there is always the view that they hate everyone except thier masters (tv, movies, etc) but from the reading I know this not to be true. What I really want to know is how they react to guests.
4) Would raising a puppy be a horrible idea? I've looked at the local rescues and I didn't find something that suited me so I figure the next best thing would to be getting one from a breeder. I also have had experiance with dogs before (grew up with a weimaraner).

I'm sure there is some I forgot to ask (there always is) but those are my major questions. If there are other concerns or questions for me then feel free to ask.

Thanks much for bearing with my long post.
-Sean

· Registered
4 Posts