Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've posted about this before, but I'm still not sure what to do so I'm going to post about it again.

I have a dog who doesn't like puppies, and I'm getting a new puppy later this year. How and when should I introduce them? Should I wait until the puppy is settled in, or should she meet him straight away? Where should they meet? At home or on neutral ground elsewhere?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm just very worried and I really want this to work out so they can be friends. It would make life a lot easier.

Anyway, thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3,979 Posts
I'm no expert and I had a slightly different story but it may help?

My boyfriend's mastiff acted very aggressive towards small dogs and at the time I had 2 yorkies. I wouldn't say aggressive like dog aggressive more like predator and prey aggressive (when I think about the look she got in her eyes it still scares me). Our first introduction was in his yard, his dogs muzzled and on leashes for my dog's protection. Very bad, very very bad idea and I highly suggest not doing it. His dog held my dogs down and if it weren't for the muzzles they would have been history even though we were right there but mastiffs are strong animals!

I reached out to several trainers and NO ONE would help us except one guy. Here's what he suggested:

Most importantly YOU HAVE TO BE CALM. Dogs instantly sense when you're not ok with the situation.

We reintroduced them on neutral ground (His dog still muzzled for protection).

Then back at my boyfriend's fenced yard we held the small dog and let the big dog smell the small dog, no muzzle on (don't want big dog to associate bad muzzle with little dog) and then do the same with the little dog while holding the bigger dog.