Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6,847 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone!

first, a little background - i'm new to dogs, but my SO has had dogs his entire life, including a few ridiculously smart dogs. he's gone about 4 years since his last dog passed away, and we decided on a doberman after a lot of discussion, research, and interaction with the breed. i've started attending meetings of the local doberman club, and i got my breeder recommendation from a few members of that club. the dog we're getting is currently around 4 weeks old, so i'm still getting the house ready for him.

we're planning to give the dog our spare bedroom. he will be crated in there, and i will have a baby gate in front of the door. my cats have never lived with a dog. the cats are used to going in and out of this room, and i am loathe to shut the door when the dog's in there, hence the baby gate. my question is how should i introduce the new member of the family? i know that with cats, it's suggested that the door be left shut for a week or so to let everyone smell each under the door. is this a fairly universal suggestion?

also: this room has furniture in it as well as carpeting. should i be investing in an x-pen instead of a baby gate to keep him confined in a smaller space?

finally: i'm taking off work the week after we bring him home and will be coming home at lunch to let him out after i go back to work. my plan was to set up half the crate with a puppy pad so he can go between my SO leaving for work and my arrival back home. should i be doing this, or will this train him into bad habits right away?

we're going to get him (and me) into obedience classes ASAP.

any other tips y'all want to give a complete newb would be fantastic.

·
Registered
6,847 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Registered
9,449 Posts