Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in College Station, Tx and I'm picking up my doberman next week. He will be 6 weeks and I am planning on having him med cropped at 10 weeks. Does that sound right? Does anyone know of any talented vets semi close to me? I'm a college student, so I don't have a lot of cash. My budget is around $300. So I really need a great deal on this one. Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
4,705 Posts
First, Welcome to DT.

6 weeks is WAY TOO YOUNG for the pup to leave it's Mother and Siblings. Obviously you did not purchase from a reputable breeder, as any reputable breeder WILL NOT let a puppy go home at 6 weeks. In addition, good breeders have the ears cropped BEFORE the puppy goes to its new home.

Secondly, Dobermans are not a healthy breed and if you are strapped for cash, you are likely to have financial difficulties, as this breed is an expensive breed to own.

I would recommend that you do more research so that you know what you are getting into and then find a reputable breeder that health tests the parents, crops ears, and will be a resource for you throughout the life of your dog.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Geez, you might want to reconsider.