Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been doing research for almost two months as far as where to get my first doberman pup. I do not want a show dog, or working dog, just a healthy, good tempered family dob. I have spoke with Bruda and Dedos in IL as well as MOAs in Wisconsin. I just saw a really bad review on Dedo but went there today and thought she had some very nice pups. I just am not seasoned enough to know what the little differences are between the bad, average, good and great breeders. Anything in particular I should look for or questions to ask? I really appreciate any and all information! Thanks

·
Registered
1,972 Posts
First and foremost is health testing. Dobermans are an exceptionally unhealthy breed. It's estimated that 60% of male dobermans have DCM which is a huge killer in this breed. I would never consider a breeder that does not do a yearly echo/holter, OFA elbows/hips, thyroid, CERF for eye abnormalities, and I'm sure there's something else. Most sub par breeders will tell you their dogs are vet checked and healthy. The problem is a normal vet check will NOT be enough to diagnose the problems that run rampant in this breed.

The next thing is... there are plenty of pet quality pups from show/working breeders. They may not have suitable drives or perhaps a small conformation flaw that makes them unsuitable for breeding/showing but does not stop them from being perfectly lovely pets. Thing is.. the show/working breeders put their dogs to the test. They know temperaments and structure inside and out. They know the problems you're likely to run into health-wise from studying the pedigrees.

Please go with an ethical breeder that health tests and titles their dogs. Less expensive at purchase does NOT mean less expensive in the long run.

Also: Please consider adoption too!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·