Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dakota turns 2 in 5 days! I can't believe it! My little puppers is all grown up...*sniff* I need some ideas on how to make her a birthday cake. I'd rather not use flour...and her stomach is pretty sensitive. Carrots are out(learned that the hard way). She can handle peanut butter and cheese in small quantities. I was thinking of doing something with canned pumpkin but I don't know how to go about this. It's my first time making a doggy birthday cake! Any suggestions?

Here's a picture of the (almost)birthday girl!

·
Paralibrarian
6,168 Posts
Maybe take a flourless chocolate cake recipe and replace the chocolate with pumpkin? I have no idea if, in the alchemy of baking, this will produce a prodigious mess but...well...dogs don't need it to be pretty! They want you to melt the chocolate anyway, and the first recipe I found was only 4 ounces. It might be souffle-esque?

·
Registered
30 Posts
I was looking around and found a gluten free doggy cake. Thought you may be interested in this.

Andy’s Birthday Cake (Adapted from The Honest Kitchen recipe)

This is a gluten free, grain free cake. Serves 12 easily.

Cake:

4 cups The Honest Kitchen Embark (also you can use Force or Zeal) dehydrated dog food

2 Tablespoons The Honest Kitchen “Ice Pups” frozen treat mix

1 c chicken broth (can also use vegetable broth or cooking water from sweet potatoes)

2 eggs

3 Tablespoons honey

1 cup yogurt (I substituted 1 c mashed cooked sweet potatoes with 1/4 c cooking water for a dairy sensitive dog)

1/2 c smashed banana chips (also can use smashed Smooches or Nuzzles cookies)

Frosting:

1 c plain greek yogurt

1 tsp honey

“Happy Hips” chicken jerky, duck jerky, or bacon bits

Mini treats

To make the cake:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Grease a 10 inch cake pan or line with baking parchment. (I like the parchment- it makes clean up easy).